top of page

Heavy Surf at Panther Beach in California


Panther Beach, California coast, 2013. Photograph @ Stewart M. Green

Here's a cool photograph I shot back in June, 2013, for my book "Scenic Routes & Byways California's Pacific Coast," published by Globe Pequot Press that autumn.

That day I photographed the Big Sur coast, one of America's iconic coastal areas, and then drove north to Santa Cruz in the early evening. When I reached the rugged coast north of Santa Cruz, the heavy surf, pushed by strong westerly winds, was running high at Panther Beach.

I set up my tripod and Nikon on the edge of a vertical cliff and shot up the coast, where I found a young man perched above the Pacific maelstrom. His tiny human figure seemed to be conducting this magnificent and elemental symphony at the meeting of rock, sand, and surf.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page